Dutch hair

Anyone got a hair band?

One thing you might notice about Dutch men is that, aside from being tall and good looking, many of them… need a haircut.

I haven’t quite figured out why, but many Dutch blokes, especially young university students, have this very particular sort of semi-long hairstyle that I haven’t seen anywhere else in the world. It’s too short to tie back into a pony tail, but too long to stay out of their face, so they are left with no option but to overdo the hair gel.

A Dutch friend of mine (who has such hair) explained to me that it’s typical only for a certain segment of society, a segment which also tends to belong to fraternities and play field hockey. Indeed, I have noticed many of “them” around Utrecht, a university town, and they do tend to be wearing preppy clothes. I mean, the older professional men in my office certainly don’t have this haircut.

According to Urban Dictionary, this hair style can be referred to as the “Dutch prince.” So grease up those locks and look like royalty, baby!

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dutch hair

  1. Connie says:

    M told me it’s the sign of a frat boy, a kind of social branding if you will. Hahaha I love those long blonde locks.

  2. I am reading your blog and dying. I went to Holland and stayed with my friend’s family for Easter, and everything you’re writing about is so true! The hair gel one being the most obvious hehe. Where does that trend even come from?

  3. Netta says:

    I would make this hairstyle compulsory in England as well. :-) Dutch guys are HOT!

  4. Dan says:

    hi,
    I’m half swiss, half dutch but live in Switzerland. therefor I know the dutch somewhat but have enough distance to have a great laugh about them reading your posts – thanx for that blog!! anyway, I’ve just been to Ibiza and in my hotel there were many, many dutchmen. it’s no exageration that at least half the men (in all age groups) had that hairstyle. I’m planning to have my hair grown to look like that too, I think it sends the typical dutch message ‘I don’t really care about anything and certainly not about my hair hanging in my face’ ;)
    cheers!

  5. Pingback: Canal Dredging « What the Dutch

  6. Pingback: Dutch hair

  7. Saana Kähäri says:

    Wow o.o You wanna see pic of my dutch boyfriend..? (Im a finn) He has exactly that hair! Luckily i like it though…

  8. Emma says:

    I have just started watching ‘Feuten’ to improve my Dutch (living on the french side of Brussels) and I was asking myself the exact question your article answers to. That’s how I came across it, too. Just by typing, ‘dutch hair’ into google. Bram and Olivier, the main characters of the series, have the exact haircut you describe AND it’s a series about a posh fraternity in Amsterdam. Fits perfectly. BTW you are the only mention of this that I could find. Thanks !

Leave a Reply

