Douwe Egberts

Douwe Egberts Cafe

Utrecht is full of coffee houses, many of which are independently owned or part of local or regional chains. In all of Utrecht, I’ve only seen one Starbuck’s, and it is in the train station.

I have to be careful with my terminology because, in Holland, “coffee shop” refers to a place where you go to smoke weed, whereas “cafe” refers to a place where you go to drink coffee. I’m continually correcting myself mid-sentence.

My favourite coffeesho– I mean cafe (!) is Douwe Egberts. It’s a brand of coffee that is sold in British supermarkets, but since the brand is originally Dutch (the first shop was opened in 1753), they also have cafes here.  If you order filtered coffee, they will brew it for you fresh in an individual-sized filter over your cup. And every coffee is served with a cookie.

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Douwe Egberts

  1. Eefje says:

    There is a new coffee place on the Voorstraat named The Village and it is briljant, check it out if you like coffee places. 🙂

    • africagrows says:

      Yes, my boyfriend spotted that new place and we have been there together. It kind of reminded me of a New York City style cafe.

  2. Pingback: Coffee « What the Dutch

Leave a Reply

