Fish (or) Chips

Fish at the fishmonger

When I was living in London, I often enjoyed that staple of the English diet, fish and chips. (For my North American readers, translation: I’m talking about deep-fried fish accompanied with french fries).

The amusing thing about Holland is that the Dutch seem to eat a lot of fish and a lot of chips, but not together. At every market you will see several stalls labelled vishandel, which means fishmonger.

Here you can buy fresh fish to take home or have it fried in front of you for a quick snack. This is usually deep-fried chunks of cod, called kibbeling and served in a tray. These places are always very busy at lunch. Another favourite is haring broodje, a raw herring on a bun, usually served with pickles. Yuck.

Dutch-Flemish-French Fries

But if you want your fries you had better go somewhere else. The Dutch are also huge chip eaters, but they seem to be sold at stand-alone chip shops like the chain store Mannekenpis. I love how they serve them– wrapped up in a paper cone with the mayonnaise (not ketchup) slopped on top. And if you’re lucky, you’ll get a little three-pronged plastic fry fork to eat them with.

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fish (or) Chips

  1. Pingback: Smells Fishy « What the Dutch

  2. Pingback: Let’s Have Dutch Tonight? « What the Dutch

Leave a Reply

