Cheesemongers

The little cheese shop

In the post-cheese tasting excitement of my last post, I forgot to mention one of the most delightful things about buying cheese in Holland. Rather than going to the supermarket like you would in the US or UK, here you can go to the market or to the cheesemonger, a shop dedicated to selling cheese.  (Of course you can also buy at the supermarket, but it’s not as good ). 

One kilo, please

 

My boyfriend is a regular at a specific cheese stall in the Vredenburg market and they are getting to know him as he systematically works his way through all their types of cheese. I snapped this photo of an adorable cheesemonger in Haarlem, called ‘t Kaaswinkeltje. “Kaas” means cheese, “winkeltje” means shop, and ‘t is an abbreviation for “het,” which means the.  So this is The Cheese Shop… how cute!  Sorry if this blog is getting cheesy.

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheesemongers

  1. Lollo says:

    If I translate correctly from the German word, the Winkeltje literally means ‘small corner’ (and it sounds really cute! I love that language)

Leave a Reply

