Tall Blonde People

Hey shortie

I’ve gone from living in a country where most everyone was shorter and darker than me (Tunisia) to Holland, where everyone seems taller and blonder than me.  I’m nearly 5’10” (178cm) and quite fair-haired, but in The Netherlands I hardly stand out for my height, and I’m certainly not blonde.

I must admit, it is slightly intimidating being surrounded by so many tall, beautiful people.  To quote Zoolander (I know, I’m sophisticated like that), the Dutch might say, “We can’t help it if we are incredibly good looking.”  Sometimes you just don’t know where to look.  There are plenty of good-looking men, but the women are even more attractive, and so I often find myself unable to take my eyes away from some random chick on the train or in the supermarket, and then feeling dumb.

Even when I wear my heels, I still walk past many women just as tall as me.  And the style currently in fashion – low boots paired with a mini-skirt (with tights of course, this is winter after all!) – only serves to exaggerate the endless mile-long legs which suddenly make you feel very stumpy.

My boyfriend isn’t too keen on Dutch women because he thinks they have no figure.  It is true that you get a lot of stick-legs going on, and in general the women aren’t at all curvy, but look rather more like a long straight board.  The men, on the other hand, tend to be quite big, meaning not only tall but also broad-shouldered and well built.  It must be all those glasses of milk.

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

