Would you like some sprinkles on your… toast?

A healthy start

I gave this typical Dutch breakfast food a try for the first time last week and, well, it tasted like… chocolate sprinkles on toast. The Dutch word for this unique sort of bread topping is hagelslag (it tastes more appetising than it sounds). The original is chocolate sprinkles, but nowadays they seem to come in all flavours, shapes, and colours (including some disturbing shades of orange and pink). Dutch people usually butter their toast first before putting the sprinkles on to make them stick.  Personally I prefer a layer of Nutella, for some chocolate-on-chocolate action. But it still didn’t stop the sprinkles from falling off while I ate the slice of bread. Which just proves to me that sprinkles really belong on ice cream.

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Would you like some sprinkles on your… toast?

  1. Connie says:

    Maurice left about 5 huge boxes of a variety of these sprinkles for us. We always forgot and never got around to eating them while he was here. The other day Liina and I tried a few; mostly we just ended up pouring the chocolate ones directly into our mouths because the other variants weren’t so tasty. I’ve yet to try them on bread because it doesn’t seem all that appetizing.

  2. Amberlyn says:

    I honestly prefer vlokken over hagelslag.
    You know you’re dutch if you have hagelslag/vlokken and stroopwafel in your pantry.

Leave a Reply

