Bitterballen

Hot! Hot! Hot!

My mouth actually bled this morning when brushing my teeth because I burned the roof of my mouth the other night when eating bitterballen.  Each time I eat them, I burn my mouth, but they are so good I keep going back for more.

Bitterballen are a staple on Dutch pub and snack bar menus.  A bit like chips in the UK, or nachos in the US, it’s the greasy food you get with friends when having a few beers. People eat them with their fingers or toothpicks.

What is in them, you ask? Well, like a kebab, it is meat-based but its exact contents remain a bit of a mystery. No Dutch person has ever given me a straight answer as to what is inside. According to Wikipedia, it is minced beef, beef broth, flour, butter, parsley, salt, pepper, and sometimes nutmeg and/or curry powder. This mixture, after being refrigerated to make it firm, is battered in a mixture of breadcrumbs, milk, and egg and then deep-fried.

By the time the “bitter” balls (which aren’t at all bitter) arrive at your table, the outside is deceivingly room-temperature whereas the filling remains piping hot, so you are bound to burn your tongue as you impatiently devour them. Not that I’m bitter about it. (Yes, pun intended.)

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bitterballen

  1. Pingback: Eat bitterballen in Amsterdam … #TastyTuesday - Contented Traveller | Contented Traveller

Leave a Reply

