Doing absolutely everything on a bicycle

Doing everything short of giving birth on the bicycle.

We all know that the Dutch spend a lot of time on their bicycles, which they also happen to own a lot of. (See my previous post on the importance of bicycles in Dutch life.)

It’s amusing to observe the variety of things Dutch people can and will do while on two wheels. Here’s my friend, with her toddler in tow, withdrawing money from the cash point. No need to get off the bicycle!

I’ve also seen people talking on the phone or sending text messages while on their bicycle; a couple kissing on their bicycles (they had, at least, come to a stop before doing so); and an entire family on a bicycle, with their multiple children piled into a little trailer attached to the bike.

When it comes to life on a bicycle, the Dutch know no limit!

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doing absolutely everything on a bicycle

  1. lars says:

    I have to say: not much difference just across the border 😀 Germans do it too…

  2. Pingback: Bicycle Parking Lots « What the Dutch

Leave a Reply

