Mooo

A Dutch cow, immortalized in Delftware.

There are a lot of cows in Holland. Whenever you take the train between two cities, you are likely to see these contented beasts lazily grazing in the distance. They are almost always the black-and-white dairy milk cows, as opposed to the brown meat-producing cows.

I was told there is more land in Holland allocated to cows than to people, but I can’t find any source to confirm this. Does anyone know if this is true?  

Apparently there are approximately 4 million cattle in Holland, less than one quarter of the human population. So at least we can say with certainy that Holland isn’t like New Zealand when it comes to its livestock-to-people ratios. Bicycles are another matter…

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

