Slide to Work

This will shave minutes off my commute.

This will shave minutes off my commuting time...

One stop away from Utrecht Centraal station is Utrecht Overvecht train station, located in a northern suburb of Utrecht. There isn’t much reason to go there; in fact, it has the reputation of being a “disadvantaged” or “rough” neighbourhood (by Dutch standards, at least).

Well, there wasn’t much reason to go there… until they recently installed an adult-sized playground slide next to the large flight of stairs leading into the station. Now that is worth going out of the way for.

The purpose of this so-called “transfer accelerator” is to shorten journey times for rail commuters and, more importantly, inject a bit of fun into life.

But I should wear trousers to work more often.

...but I should wear trousers to work more often.

 

 

Sadly, not that many people seem to be using it. I had a go (twice) and got a few laughs and stares from the stairs (pun intended).  I secretly wish I lived in Utrecht Overvecht just so I could take the slide on my way to work every day. Yipeeeee!

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

