Good-Bye, Don’t Cry

Today is a very sad day. It’s my last day living in the Netherlands. I know I’ve been going away and coming back a lot, but this time it’s for good. Please don’t cry!

It has been such a pleasure for me to have this experience of living in Holland and to share it with you through this blog on a daily basis. In the end, I spent only five months in the country, but it’s a time in my life that I’ll always look back on fondly.

I’ve accepted a two-year employment contract in Liberia, West Africa and I’m moving there tomorrow. Once I’m settled in to my new home, I’ll be writing about life in this fascinating new country in my new blog, Liberiana. I hope to see you there!

About Home Strange Home

I first left the US in 1999, when I was 18 years old. Since then, I’ve spent 13 years living abroad - 3 in Canada, 7 in Europe, and 3 in Africa. Now I've finally returned to the US on a one-way plane ticket. I arrived home in late January 2014 and set foot in the US for the first time in nearly 2.5 years. In Home Strange Home, I blog about the ups and downs of my re-acculturation experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Good-Bye, Don’t Cry

  1. Vicki says:

    Incredibly interesting blog. I will continue to follow you. I, too, have a soft spot for The Netherlands as my grandparent was born there. I am in the USA.

Leave a comment